Trivia

In the process of haunting websites devoted to discussion of The X-Files in order to assess the extent which fans of the show share my austerely negative opinion of the franchise’s recent feature film installment, I came across seriousxfilestrivia.com, an online game of a nature made obvious by its name. Initially, my exceptional performance in this contest excited me, and I was pleased to observe my gradual ascent of the leader board, but this contentment was swiftly stifled by the realization that my aptitude for X-Files trivia games was not a source from which I should derive pride so much as it was a tragedy. That I was more knowledgeable of inconsequential minutae relating to the X-Files than the majority of others did not indicate that I was in any way superior to those others, but rather that I had most probably devoted a greater portion of my years on earth to watching a particular television show than they had, and that therefore I had likely lead a life most would consider to be less fulfilling than theirs. Trivia games are a genuinely sad occupation, and we who are proficient at them are a piteous lot. 

– Gothicus Maximus

2 Responses to “Trivia”

  1. WoW! Finally a blog where I can read a good English. I liked your post.
    ^^

  2. gothicusmaximus Says:

    Indeed, a good english can always be found here at OMG A BAT.
    In all seriousness, though, I speculate, based on considerable evidence, that every post I make to this blog is riddled with severe grammatical errors of which I won’t take notice until weeks after a given entry’s publication, if at all.

Leave a Reply

